LES TOILES MUSICALES #3
Masterpieces from the Musee de Picardie
 

In this opus of Toiles Musicales  dedicated to the Picardy Museum , Bertrand Coynault stages the museum's masterpieces by exploring several themes.
This project, developed in partnership with the Musée de Picardie, offers the public the opportunity to discover in an original way the richness of the collections of which the public has been private for several years.

Journey to the 18th century  

The program begins with an immersion of the senses in the French eighteenth century with the desire to create a dialogue between paintings that have been able to rub shoulders with the works of the two great musical figures of the century, François Couperin and Jean-Philippe Rameau .

The dream universe  

The night and the world of dreams are fascinating and highly developed themes in both pictorial art and music, where the master of the genre is Frédéric Chopin . Each of the six nocturnes with a very distinct personality, chosen to accompany a major canvas from the collections of the Musée de Picardie, reveals its correspondence through an atmosphere that is sometimes disturbing, sensual and phantasmagoric.

Orientalism  

The Orient was a very widespread source of inspiration in the 19th century. It is most often the fantasized Western vision of a culture associated with a rather vague geographical area in the minds of contemporaries of the time, which we could define today from the Middle East to the Andalusia , via the Maghreb .

Associating the Spanish composer Enrique Granados with this theme makes it possible to match the sounds referring to Arabic music, with a selection of magnificent orientalist paintings.

 

Archaism and romanticism, the universe of Rachmaninoff  

This last theme invites you to immerse yourself in the world of Russian composer Sergei Rachmaninoff . Coming from the aristocracy, this romantic figure had to flee the Bolshevik revolution in 1918 to settle in the United States. His inspiration stems from his own life: family dramas, the evocation of large natural spaces, incense and Orthodox religion, from which surely comes his desire to make the piano ring like a set of bells , which constitutes a real sound signature.

LES TOILES MUSICALES #3
Chefs-d'œuvre du Musée de Picardie
 

Dans cet opus des Toiles Musicales consacré au Musée de Picardie, Bertrand Coynault met en scène les chefs-d’œuvre du musée en explorant plusieurs thématiques.
Ce projet développé en partenariat avec le Musée de Picardie offre au public l’occasion de découvrir d’une manière originale la richesse des collections dont le public est privé depuis plusieurs années.

Voyage au XVIIIe siècle 

Le programme débute par une immersion des sens dans le XVIIIe siècle français avec l’envie de faire dialoguer des toiles qui ont pu côtoyer les œuvres des deux grandes figures musicales du siècle, François Couperin et Jean-Philippe Rameau.

L'univers du rêve 

La nuit et l’univers du rêve sont des thèmes fascinants et très développés tant dans l’art pictural que dans la musique, où le maître du genre est Frédéric Chopin. Chacun des six nocturnes à la personnalité bien distincte, choisi pour accompagner une toile majeure des collections du Musée de Picardie, révèle sa correspondance à travers une atmosphère parfois inquiétante, sensuelle et fantasmagorique.

L'orientalisme 

L’orient est une source d’inspiration très répandue au XIXe siècle. Il s’agit le plus souvent de la vision occidentale fantasmée d’une culture associée à une zone géographique assez floue dans l’esprit des contemporains de l’époque, que l’on pourrait définir aujourd’hui du Moyen-orient à l’Andalousie, en passant par le Maghreb.

Associer le compositeur espagnol Enrique Granados à ce thème permet de faire correspondre les sonorités faisant référence à la musique arabe, avec une sélection de magnifiques toiles orientalistes.

 

Archaïsme et romantisme, l'univers de Rachmaninov 

Cette dernière thématique propose de s’immerger dans l’univers du compositeur russe Sergueï Rachmaninov. Issu de l’aristocratie, cette figure romantique dut fuir en 1918 la révolution bolchévique pour s’établir aux Etats-Unis. Son inspiration découle de sa propre vie : les drames familiaux, l’évocation des grands espaces naturels, l’encens et la religion orthodoxe, d’où lui proviennent sûrement cette envie de faire sonner le piano comme un ensemble de cloches, ce qui constitue une vraie signature sonore.